



DOIS SÉCULOS

UCIONALISMO

RAL EM PORTUGAL

## International Conference – September 24, 2020 (Oporto)

Two CENTURIES OF ELECTORAL CONSTITUTIONALISM IN PORTUGAL (1820-2020) < <u>www.ulusiada.pt/constitucionalismoeleitoral</u> >

Main theme: from the elections for the traditional *Cortes* (13th-19th centuries) to the constituent and modern parliamentary elections (19th-20th centuries).

## Related topics:

- 1. Elections of the traditional European parliaments (Cortes, Parliaments, Etatsgénéraux, Diet, Sejm, Rigsdag, Riksdag, Generallandtag).
- 2. The modern constituent elections and the «electoral constitution».
- 3. Evolution of representative democracy
- 4. Political representation.
- **Abstract:** (1.) The main objective of this initiative is to mark the bicentenary of constitutionalism in Portugal (1820-2020), in commemoration of the liberal revolution and the first constituent elections in Portugal, promoting an international scientific meeting in the area of Constitutional History in general, and of parliamentarism and of electoral democracy, in particular. With reference to the constitutional revolutions in North America (1776), France (1789) and Europe, and finally in Latin America (19th century), the proposals to be presented should focus on parliamentary elections before or after these elections dates, including constituent assemblies, with particular emphasis on the crucial constitutional moment of the shift from the traditional electoral system to the modern electoral system. In short, the guiding thread will be parliamentary elections over the centuries (from the Middle Ages to the present day), which are considered the main instrument of representative



democracy and the manifestation of the ideal of popular sovereignty. This event aims to be a contribution to the constitutional and political history of the parliament, having as a point of support the elections held for its composition.

DOIS SÉCULOS

**ORAL** EM PORTUGAL

(2.) The example of **Portugal (to be adapted to other countries):** still in 1820 the first electoral laws appeared, the elections for the constituent *Cortes* of 1821/22 are realized and the parliamentary electoral system is modified, contributing for the institution of the modern parliamentary assemblies, different from the medieval representative assemblies, being permanent institutions based on individual suffrage, irrespective of the social origin or category. **Themes:** *(i)* Election of members to the old *Cortes* (13th-1697), including the *Cortes* of 1828; *(ii)* the various elections to constituent *Cortes* / Assemblies since 1820 (constituent elections of 1820, 1836, 1911 and 1975) and respective "electoral constitutions", that is, the constitutional provisions devoted to elections in successive national constitutions; *(iii)* the electoral universe and voter registration throughout modern constitutionalism (1820-1976); *(iv)* the evolution of Portuguese electoral democracy.

- Submission of proposals: Presentation of a summary of about 250 words for 20 minutes oral communication; proposals must be accompanied by a copy indicating the title, author's name(s), e-mail address, academic activity, institutional affiliation and a short CV. Proposals are accepted in Portuguese, English, Spanish, French, Italian and German.
- **Deadline:** proposals must be sent by 1 May 2020 to <u>jdominguesul@hotmail.com</u> or <u>vitalmoreira5@por.ulusiada.pt</u>. The Scientific Committee shall consider the proposals in relation to their importance to the theme and its quality. Authors will be notified of acceptance by July 31, 2020.

**Application Fee:** 20 € (euros).



## **Executive committee:**

Vital Moreira (Univ. Lusíada / Univ. de Coimbra)

DOIS SÉCULOS

TITUCIONALISMO RAL <sup>EM</sup> PORTUGAL

José Domingues (Univ. Lusíada)

## Scientific Committee:

Alan MacDonald (Univ. of Dundee) António Manuel Hespanha (Univ. Nova de Lisboa) tbc Carlos Garriga Acosta (Univ. Euskal) Eloy García (Univ. Complutense) Faustino Martínez Martínez (Univ. Complutense) Ignacio Fernández Sarasola (Univ. Oviedo) Jairo Marconi Nicolau (Univ. do Rio de Janeiro) José Domingues (Univ. Lusíada) José Joaquim Gomes Canotilho (Univ. Lusíada / Univ. de Coimbra) Manuel Maria Cardoso Leal (Universidade de Lisboa) Manuel Monteiro (Univ. Lusíada) Maria Helena da Cruz Coelho (Univ. de Coimbra) Oscar Ferreira (Univ. de Bourgogne) Pedro Ortego Gil (Univ. de Santiago de Compostela) Ricardo Leite Pinto (Univ. Lusíada) Sophie Thérèse Ambler (Univ. Lancaster) Vital Moreira (Univ. Lusíada / Univ. de Coimbra) Zília Osório de Castro (Univ. Nova de Lisboa)